Friday, July 31, 2009

The whining may now cease

(speaking in a folksy, AM talk-radio sort of commercial voice) Y'know...the few days after a strike are a good time to think about things. Mostly, about all the people who walk around during a strike saying things like 'A strike is sure a good time to think about...' before leading into a diatribe about how they're being put upon and the other side really just don't live in the real world. That's why I...

Ah, skip it. But for the record, here's a snippet from today's Globe and Mail:

Councillors voting in favour of the deal:

David Miller, City of Toronto Mayor
Maria Augimeri (Ward 9, York Centre)
Sandra Bussin (Ward 32, Beaches-East York)
Shelley Carroll (Ward 33, Don Valley East)
Raymond Cho (Ward 42, Scarborough-Rouge River)
Janet Davis (Ward 31, Beaches-East York)
Glenn De Baeremaeker (Ward 38, Scarborough Centre)
Frank Di Giorgio (Ward 12, York South-Weston)
Paula Fletcher (Ward 30, Toronto-Danforth)
Adam Giambrone (Ward 18, Davenport)
Mark Grimes (Ward 6, Etobicoke-Lakeshore)
Suzan Hall (Ward 1, Etobicoke North)
A. A. Heaps (Ward 35, Scraborough Southwest)
Doug Holyday (Ward 3, Etobicoke Centre)
Pam McConnell (Ward 28 ,Toronto Centre-Rosedale)
Joe Mihevc (Ward 21, St. Paul’s)
Joe Pantalone (Ward 19, Trinity-Spadina)
Gord Perks (Ward 14, Parkdale-High Park)
Anthony Perruzza (Ward 8, York West)
Bill Saundercook (Ward 13, Parkdale-High Park)
Adam Vaughan (Ward 20, Trinity-Spadina)

Voting against the deal:

Paul Ainslie (Ward 43, Scarborough East)
Brian Ashton (Ward 36, Scarborough Southwest)
Mike Del Grande (Ward 39, Scarborough-Agincourt)
Mike Feldman (Ward 10, York Centre)
Rob Ford (Ward 2, Etobicoke North)
Cliff Jenkins (Ward 25, Don Valley West)
Norm Kelly (Ward 40, Scarborough Agincourt)
Chin Lee (Ward 41, Scarborough-Rouge River)
Peter Milczyn (Ward 5, Etobicoke-Lakeshore) – for Local 416 only, conflict declared on 79
Denzil Minnan-Wong (Ward 34, Don Valley East)
Ron Moeser (Ward 44, Scarborough East)
Frances Nunziata (Ward 11, York South-Weston)
Case Ootes (Ward 29, Toronto-Danforth)
John Parker (Ward 26, Don Valley West)
David Shiner (Ward 24, Willowdale) – for Local 79 only, conflict declared on 416
Karen Stintz (Ward 16, Eglinton-Lawrence)
Michael Thompson (Ward 37, Scarborough Centre)
Michael Walker (Ward 22, St. Paul’s)

Absent for reasons I know nothing about:

Cesar Palacio (Ward 17, Davenport)
Gloria Lindsay Luby (Ward 4, Etobicoke Centre)
Kyle Rae (Ward 27, Toronto Centre-Rosedale)
Giorgio Mammoliti (Ward 7, York West)
John Filion (Ward 23, Willowdale)
Howard Moscoe (Ward 15, Eglinton-Lawrence)

Now. Didn't like the strike? Google the names above. Get in touch with the ones who didn't vote your way. Or get in touch with the ones who did vote your way and tell them they did a heckofa job. Didn't like the results? Then work to change the playing field. Democracy in action. The system works. And the system sucks. Next time there's an election, you might be able to scootch things over a few inches to the left or right so that the system will suck in your favour for a change. The open forum of Toronto-based whining is offically completed, now you have to Google and fax and email and phone on your own time. Knock yourselves out.


Jimmy said...

Mammolitti, the so-called shit of city council that likes to do things his way abstains from voting after all the BIG TALK from his small mouth.

Moscoe, Raye & this douche bag all need to be released from taxpayers purse strings.

The best part of the strike was when that lady gave it to him for his PHOTO-OP cleaning his ward.

Mammo you stink!!!

Blogger Templates by 2008